Bodhisattva Warrior: The Six Paramitas (SSBS)

March 8th—April 9th

Date details +
  • $150 Full Price
  • $175 Sponsor
  • $125 BSC Member
  • $75 Subsidized
Room: Main Shrine Room

Tuesdays 3/8-4/5, 2022, 7-9PM MT

Intensive Saturday 4/9, 2022, 9AM-5PM MT

Hybrid class with in-person and online options available.

Having developed a powerful aspiration to attain complete enlightenment for the benefit of all, one takes the bodhisattva vow to manifest and actualize that aspiration. After this, one develops the bodhichitta of engaging, entering into the actions of a bodhisattva.

This course presents the six transcendent actions or paramitas of the bodhisattva path. Two texts will be used: the Vidyadhara’s 1980 & 1982 Seminary Transcripts. The two presentations are closely related in structure and provide the basic instructions on what these actions involve. Much of this material was covered in one class in the "Walking the Bodhisattva Path" course. In this course, we are simply taking it one step deeper.

This class and topic is be a good time to begin asking for more involvement from the students. You could run this class in a seminar or discussion format, asking certain students to prepare material for the class, or even to lead the discussion. What you do exactly will depend on the size and maturity of the class; nevertheless, they can be invited to stretch and be put on the spot. The class could sit in a circle to facilitate discussion.

Format: six classes and a dharma exchange

Five weekday classes

1. Sugatagarbha

2. Generosity

3. Discipline

4. Patience

5. Exertion

One day intensive

6. Meditation & Prajna

7. Dharma Exchange

This class is part of the Shambhala School of Buddhist Studies series—a complete cycle of teachings to immerse the interested learner in the path of Buddhism. To learn more and register for other SSBS classes, please click on a class below:

Cycle 1:

Taming the Mind
Shamatha: Nine Stages
Walking the Boddhisattva Path
Maitri: Five Wisdom Energies

Cycle 2:

The Three Jewels
Bodhisattva Warrior: The Six Paramitas
Four Foundations of Mindfulness
Lineage & Devotion

Cycle 3:

Karma: Five Skandhas & Twelve Nidanas
Union of Shamatha-Vipashyana
Sadhana of Mahamudra

Cycle 4:

Life of Buddha & History of Sangha
Mahayana & Bodhisattva Vow
Journey Without Goal