The Four Limitless Ones: A Year of Deepening in Compassion Part I

November 5th—December 3rd

Date details +
    Room: Main Shrine Room

    The path of the Bodhisattva Warrior begins with developing affection for ourselves and expands this to others, dissolving the barriers that divide us. To support this practice, the Shambhala Acharyas have offered to lead the community in a year long series of talks, contemplative and meditation practices from the Buddhist Mahayana teachings of our lineage.

    Throughout the year, the main practice is tonglen, which will be taught by Ani Pema Chodron. The year’s teachings are divided into four seasonal themes. Every three months a new course will begin but the program will be continuous. Within each season, acharyas will be offering talks that relate to that topic with their own personal approach.

    The themes for the four seasons echo the virtues of the Four Dignities of the Shambhala Path.

    We will join together at BSC to view the video recordings and discuss the material with each other. A list of dates, topics, and teachers are listed below.


    The Four Limitless Ones: Part 1 is the first course of the four-part series exploring the Shambhala Mahayana teachings. This course includes Tonglen instruction and an audio talk by Acharya Pema Chodron and an introduction to The Four Limitless Ones.

    • Five recroded classes with an acharya.

    • Readings and book suggestions to deepen our understanding of these teachings

    • Contemplations to help us integrate these fundamental teachings into our daily lives

    • A discussion forum.


    November 5th: Shamatha and Maitri: Establishing the Foundations for our Mahayana Journey with Acharya Susan Chapman

    November 12th: Equanimity with Acharya Eve Rosenthal

    November 19th: Loving Kindness with Acharya Fleet Maull

    November 26th: Compassion with Acharya Dale Asrael

    December 3rd: Sympathetic Joy and Course Conclusion with Acharya Dan Hessey


    Coming Soon! 

    The Joyful Snow Lion & The Paramitas: A Year of Deepening in Compassion Part II

    The Fearless Garuda—Emptiness & Absolute Bodhicitta: A Year of Deepening in Compassion Part III